GenXYZ: How we’re turning into lamps

I’m a teenager and, as almost every teenager will say, my parents live in another century. If the many years of age difference and balding heads doesn’t prove it, I’m sure I’ll do a better job.
There are so many things that make them wiser than us- countless experiences and exorbitant phone bills.
All we are, we owe to the generation above us.
But there are some things all of us hope they would get.
They don’t realize it most times, but they misunderstand almost everything we do. Which is why it’s so easy to trick them into believing things that people our own age would never believe.
Or maybe that’s just their endless trust.
Either way, here are some notable examples.
For one, their understanding of school is disparate. They believe school is a happy learning environment where teachers actually teach, and students actually study.
That’s preschool, dad.
Contrary to this, let me explain, schools have turned into Hades’ multiple homes. Teachers take out their frustration on the kids, and the kids in turn score less, sleep more, and ruin their futures. Or they do the exact opposite and ruin their health. Additionally, kids in school use most of their time to meet up with friends, make out with more-than-friends, and skip classes to smoke joints.
Not kidding. I go to school.
But I don’t do any of that, mom, I swear. I’m in the good crowd.
*cough*
Okay no, I swear, okay.
To get back on topic, and to avoid uncomfortable conversations, parents also believe getting good grades depends entirely on how many hours you put into studying.
See, it doesn’t matter that you’ve turned only one page of your Chemistry textbook, rather how many hours you put into turning it. Logic, much?

But one MAJOR setback, everyone would agree, is their usage of social networking. I don’t need to say more, but out of habit, I shall. Parents don’t have friends. They actually genuinely do not. Their interaction is mainly family-contained. When they do have friends, they only talk on the phone. They do not use social networking to keep up. This is for obvious reasons:
1) They cannot type a single sentence in 5 minutes, without editing/correcting/asking their kids to correct/type for them.
2) Moms usually have too much to say, and somehow that voice note option sounds too lame to them. They prefer full fledged conversations, right from “Hi, how are you?” to excuses as lame as “I need to go to the bathroom, let’s talk tomorrow.” Hey, if you didn’t want to talk for too long, WHY DIDN’T YOU JUST MESSAGE.
3) Candy Crush Saga. Every time they pick up their mobiles to message someone, they just play Candy Crush instead. Looks more colorful than any conversation could ever get, I don’t blame them.
When they do use social networking, they mainly communicate in Group Chats, where this-morgen013
is fairly common.
Going a little off-topic here, but I’ve found some really disgusting ones on my mom’s whatsapp:

Good-morning-wishes-flowers
Am I the only one who disagrees with this? What does “status” even mean?
That’s another point to be made- their opinions on society are majorly different.

Lastly, their opinions on clothing.
What they wore:

f0734571365546e7eabeb654295c56a8

What we wear:

pAERO1-20867843t386x450

(That’s an aeropostale outfit by the way, guys.)
The hairstyles have really changed, huh.
I found another appropriate picture, rather diagram, to explain this-

images (1)

Okay I’m not here to complain about my parents and how they don’t understand things.
I’m here to complain about the coming generation, as well.
No, come on, seriously- LOOK AT THE CARTOONS THESE DAYS.

The-Amazing-World-of-Gumball-Episode-42-The-Internet

Kids from this millennia are turning into lamps- thriving on electricity to charge themselves, and turning into dull, boring, and useless things without it. It’s turning into a genetic thing, believe me. We’re passing on the need for technology like we’re passing on the shape of our nails. (Yes, the shape of our nails is hereditary.)
As soon as these kids are old enough to hold things, they’re holding iPhones and stomping on keyboard keys. They’re attracted more to touch screens than to those adorable soft toys that jingle when you shake them.
We can’t entirely blame the parents, who in order to stop their kids’ wailing from rousing the entire neighborhood, have to hand them their phones. Not teddy bears, phones.
And I STILL sleep with a teddy bear.
(For something that’s supposed to make me feel childish, I feel quite old.)
I could go on for a while about kids these days, and I probably will- in another post, on another day. There is always something to complain about, right?

Generation XYZ
(P.S. The image featured in this article is of my niece, and was personally clicked by me, so the point I’ve made in this article is very authentic.)

 

5 thoughts on “GenXYZ: How we’re turning into lamps

  1. This made me laugh – even though I know it’s not supposed to be funny! One thing that really peaked my interest in this post was what you said about school and your teachers. I’m sorry that you have this experience with teachers, but please let me tell you that they aren’t all the same (I know because I am one). I wish you would have a better experience in school, but please don’t think it’s only the teachers job to make school a good experience for you – it’s your job too. I read this article today; I thought you might enjoy it:
    http://www.ecampusnews.com/business-news/students-job-gen-376/

    Like

    1. I knew at least one teacher would read this, and it took all my courage to write about it openly.
      Turns out, the first person to read it- is a teacher.
      Yep, just my luck.
      Yes, I do believe not all teachers are like that- some are real gems. I have had some of the greatest teachers, and that’s probably why all of the others could never match up.
      I will definitely read the article, thanks for the reference. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

